Review: Vegan Beauty Basket

*sponsored post*

I really enjoy beauty boxes lately… I always thought I wouldn’t want those as they often contain products you don’t need or like but I always find a person to give those products to so they never go to waste. Therefore I was very happy when the May Vegan Beauty Basket arrived and surprised me with its products!

DSC08064

The box comes every 2 month and delivers a variety of – as the title says – vegan beauty products from all over the world. They also chose their brands depending on if they are cruelty-free or not. One box is 27,90 €, if you order three, they are 23,30 per box.


Let’s begin with the brand I already know: PuroBio. The italian brand for cruelty-free decorative cosmetics sells very well-working brushes and one of them was included in this basket. It is a huge and fluffy powder brush that covers bigger areas of skin with powder, blush or the primer that came in this box, too. The handle feels very nice and the metallic part has a pretty colour and makes the brush feel high-quality. The bristles are super soft and can be easily cleaned. The gigantic size of the brush makes it a fun tool to work with.

DSC08073

The corresponding primer comes in a loose powder form and is completely white, turns invisible when applied to the skin but prepares your face for further make up steps. I don’t think a primer is necessary all the time but it definitely helps prolong the time your skin doesn’t shine under foundation and it helps avoid products settle down in your wrinkles or crease.

DSC08081

A new discovery for me was the SISKYN elixir / toning body oil. The crazy stuff about this product is that it only contains plant oils and essential oils and nothing else. The ingredients are so cool you need to see them:

Vitis Vinifera (Grapeseed) Oil, Prunus Persica (Peach) Kernel Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Corylus Avellana (Hazelnut) Seed Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheatgerm) Oil, Nigella Sativa (Black Cumin) Seed Oil, Cupressus Sempervirens (Cypress) Essential Oil, Foeniculum vulgare (Sweet Fennel) Essential Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Essential Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot Seed) Essential Oil, Citrus Bergamia (Bergamot) Essential Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Essential Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Essential Oil, Linalool*, Limonene*, Citral*, Geraniol* *Naturally occurring in essential oils.

I don’t love the scent but I am curious about the wonders this oil will do to my skin.

DSC08078

A product I already got to know at the Vivaness fair is Ben&Anna deodorant. This was the item I was able to choose my favourite scent from as there is always one product to customize in the Vegan Beauty Basket.

The container and therefore the amount of  product is huge with this deodorant so it will last more than 2 summers I guess. I chose the scent Persian Lime because you all know I have a weakness for citrus scents by now. It is easily applied in comparison to the Acorelle deodorant for example as the sodium bicarbonate particles are smaller in size so the deodorant doesn’t peel your arm pits too much.

DSC08091

Another brand I never heard of before is Barbara Hofmann. The brand manufactures all kinds of beauty tools in Germany as a family business. The focus is consistent quality and a pleasant design. The brush I got in the box is destined for curling and shaping plus separating lashes but I think I will also use it to brush my brows.

DSC08093

The lip peeling from Lipfein surprised me aswell. Firstly, the packaging is nice and can be reused afterwards. Other than that, the peeling itself is like the one I would create in my kitchen myself – and it looks and smells like that. I don’t love the scent of roses so I can’t love the scent of the product but I can tell you that the ingredients are pure and beneficial to your lips skin. You can SEE that this product was made by hand and I sometimes miss this with other products.

DSC08102

Last but not least there is this multi-purpose energy bomb from Your Superfoods. This sachet contains only the best ingredients and can be used in smoothies, bowls and other tasty creations but also on your face as a mask. So cool!

I love that the mix doesn’t contain any sugar or similar, only the performing agents are inside, which are: Acai, Guarana, Maca, Lucuma and bananas. All organic and vegan and due to the ingredients energizing like coffee.

I will definitely put this superfood mix in a smoothie as I want to have the full benefits of the ingredients instead of only using them topically on my face (which is also a good option).

DSC08103

In total, this box contained 7 products that seem valuable to me and were fun to discover. If this appeals to you, too, go visit their website for more info: https://www.veganbeautybasket.com/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

