Summer Essentials 2016

I think now is the best time to show you some of my summer favourites, as the German summer isn’t exactly know for being long-lasting and sunny. So before the weather turns colder again I am going to present 4 of my hair and face summer essentials.

DSC05629

Starting with the hair there is one product I especially adore at the moment and it is the Evolve nourishing hair elixir handmade in the UK.

DSC05630

The oil is very potent and only 4 drops are needed for a long and thick mane like mine, more would make the hair look too shiny and oily. The most amazing part about this 100% natural product is the scent. It smells like a combination of bittersweet orange with dark chocolate, very heavy and like a dessert. I always grab the length of my hair and hold them up to my nose to enjoy the scent as long as possible as it isn’t very long-lasting. But of course you could always reapply a drop during the day.

The next product I just recently discovered and immediately liked is the eco cosmetics compact foundation with a spf 30.

If you need medium to very good coverage and are outside a lot, this really solid foundation is a good choice. It is a little hard to get the product onto the pad but especially with hot temperatures it gets easier. It tried to use my hands and a brush instead, but hands are likely to introduce bacteria to the foundation and a brush is not solid enough to get product off.

DSC05635

For the little amount of product the container seems a bit too big for me and I think there are more space-saving options out there. But still, this compact foundation is the product I like to put on my face during summer the most and that means a lot as hot weather usually doesn’t call for foundation.

DSC05637

Hurraw! is a brand that offers dozens of lip balm tastes/scents and when I got to pick one, I went for grapefruit. But they also offer a balm with sun protection which I would choose if I had a second chance to pick one as we tend to forget that the skin on our lips is very thin and should be protected when exposed to a certain amount of sunlight.

I never experienced a scent in a lip products that was that alike to its original. You can really smell the grapefruit in it, not just a hint – really strong. And the ingredients are worth to be highlighted, too:  Alkanna tinctoria (alkanet) infused Prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, ‡Euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, **Cocos nucifera (coconut) oil, *Simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, *Theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, *Ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, Olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, Citrus paradisi (grapefruit) peel oil, Tocopherols (sunflower)  *organic & cold pressed ‡wildcrafted
(This balm contains a small amount of Grapefruit essential oil. Although the natural ingredients in our balm provide some sunscreen protection, Grapefruit essential oil can make skin more sensitive to prolonged sun exposure.)

It is vegan, too and affordable with 3,79 $.

DSC05632

If your sun protection comes too late and you already have a sunburn I can highly recommend the Santaverde aloe vera hydro repair gel. It feels cooling and calming on irritated and burnt skin and provides your damaged skin with the moisture it now needs. I unfortunately had a bad sunburn experience a few weeks ago and nothing seemed to help that much as this gel did. And if you know about Santaverde, you know the aloe plants they use in their products are the best thing you can do to your skin.

DSC05567

 


 

Last but not least I want to mention some additional great summer products.

At the beginning of my green journey I encountered s.w. basics products and since then they are like the role model for all other products regarding the number of ingredients (just 3 here!) and the happiness they provided me with. I never was disappointed with any of their products.

The body scrub in the picture below is absolutely pure and fine to be eaten, too. And then the scrub has that divine, natural scent coming from the coconut in it. I always close my eyes and think about a tropical paradise. If you can’t afford a tropical holiday this year: buy their scrub and feel tropical in your bathroom. It is that good.

DSC05641

As a real sunscreen has to be mentioned in a summer essential post I want to show you one of my favourites for the body and it is the eco cosmetics sun cream with spf 15 (higher available). It has no annoying shimmer particles in it, does not look white after a certain time of massaging it in and is a trusty and small companion that should have a place in every hand bag.

DSC05644

So, that’s it for now. I hope you spotted some favourites, too or discovered new products you want to try. If there are questions post them below as always and have a nice day 🙂

One thought on “Summer Essentials 2016

Leave a Reply

